Ripon College Orchestra performs Sunday, April 26

The Ripon College Orchestra will perform at 3:15 p.m. Sunday, April 26, in Demmer Recital Hall, C.J. Rodman Center for the Arts. Admission is free and open to the public.

The ensemble is conducted by Kyle Szabo, assistant professor of music.

Selections include Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto with Brooke Williams Szabo as violin soloist; and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5.

Williams Szabo performs frequently throughout eastern Wisconsin. In addition to her appearances as a soloist, she is an active chamber musician and serves as section violinist with several orchestras, including the Green Bay, Fox Valley and Oshkosh symphonies. For three years, she was concertmaster of the Civic Symphony of Green Bay. Williams Szabo is an experienced teacher both in the studio and college classroom, and has served as an adjunct faculty at both Ripon College and the University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac. She currently maintains a private violin studio with students of all ages in Ripon, Wisconsin.

Williams Szabo received her Doctor of Musical Arts degree in violin performance from James Madison University. While there, she held a doctoral teaching fellowship with responsibilities including studio and classroom teaching. She holds a master of music degree from Penn State University, where she held an assistantship in studio teaching and performance, and a bachelor of music degree from the Eastman School of Music, where she was a scholarship student.

She performs on a violin by Michelangelo Puglisi from 1919, with a bow by Chicago-based maker John Norwood Lee.

Members of the orchestra include:

Nick Badtke ’17 of Green Bay, Wisconsin; Christian Calkins ’17 of Gloucester, Virginia; Johannes Deegen ’18 of Berlin, Wisconsin; Veronica DeLisle ’17 of Shrewsbury, Massachusetts; Emelia Erickson ’15 of Forest Lake, Minnesota; Elizabeth Floodstrand ’18 of Appleton, Wisconsin; Gabrielle Goral ’18 of Beaver Dam, Wisconsin; Erika Isaacson ’18 of Eau Claire, Wisconsin; Jimmy Izewski ’16 of Downers Grove, Illinois; Bruce King ’15 of Wauwatosa, Wisconsin; Lily Lenk ’18 of Amery, Wisconsin; Alex Snell ’16 of Brooklyn, Wisconsin; Jon Stehlik ’18 of Wheaton, Illinois; Adrienne Strohmayer ’16 of Andover, Minnesota; Katelyn Van Swol ’18 of Sturtevant, Wisconsin; DeLou Wilson ’18 of Madison, Wisconsin; and Gwen Zubke ’18 of Watertown, Wisconsin.

Related Posts

Lia Haile ’26

Lia Haile ’26 honored for work in community service

Lia Haile ’26 of Manitowoc, Wisconsin, has been inducted into the Carson Scholars Alumni Hall of Fame. The Carson Scholars Fund awards scholarships based on […]

Nicholas Eastman works with Ripon College students

Servant Leadership Fellows program launched for students

A new Servant Leadership Fellows program has been announced by Nicholas Eastman, Pieper Chair of Servant Leadership and associate professor of educational studies. A cohort […]

Patrick Willoughby

Article by Patrick Willoughby, student collaborators published in journal

Associate Professor of Chemistry Patrick H. Willoughby and three of his students contributed to an article published in Chemistry: A European Journal. Contributors to “Nitrene […]

Crew members of "The Spitfire Grill"

Stage management crew of ‘The Spitfire Grill’ wins certificates of merit

The stage management crew for the Department of Theatre’s spring 2024 production of “The Spitfire Grill” was awarded certificates of merit from the Kennedy Center/American […]