Ripon College musical ensembles will present holiday concert Sunday

A holiday concert will be presented by the Ripon College Department of Music Sunday, Dec. 4. The concert will begin at 3:15 p.m. in Great Hall, Harwood Memorial Union. Admission is free and the public is welcome to attend.

All of the musical ensembles of the College will perform: Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Orchestra, Choral Union, Concert Choir, Chamber Singers, Jazz Ensemble and Jazz Combo. Pre-show music will be provided by the Ripon College Brass Quintet and by members of the guitar studio.

The program will include a wide range of selections, including holiday favorites “Sleigh Ride,” by Leroy Anderson, the “O Tannenbaum” arrangement from “A Charlie Brown Christmas,” “Winter Wonderland,” carols from the Middle Ages and a Hebrew prayer for peace. The program will end with a holiday sing-along.

Conductors include Paul Thompson, assistant professor of music; Toby Shucha, assistant professor of music; Paul Dietrich, adjunct instructor of music; Yukiko Grine, adjunct instructor of music; and Abby Schmidt, adjunct instructor of music. Kylar Kinyon ’23 of Benton Harbor, Michigan, will be a student conductor.

Personnel, all from Wisconsin unless otherwise noted:


Flute: Benjamin Cabala ’24 of DeForest, Sam Campbell ’26 (also percussion) of Columbus, Glira De Asis ’26 of Ripon, Tia Endrizzi ’25 of La Crosse, Caroline Flesch ’23 (also piccolo) of Delavan, Meredith Thiessen ’26 of Stoughton.

Oboe: Sandy Polcyn of Ripon.

Clarinet: Megan Landvatter ’25 of West Bend, Claire Lefeber ’23 of Deforest, Ty Rondestvedt ’25 of Altoona, Kira Stark ’24 of DeForest, Julie Waldvogel-Leitner of Ripon.

Bass clarinet: Emilia Mans ’24 of Princeton.

Alto saxophone: Ellen Hughes ’19 of Reedsville, Alec Marcinkevic ’26 of East Troy, Morgan Sullivan ’25 of Kimberly.

Tenor saxophone: Mitchell Lipinski ’24 of Green Bay.

Baritone saxophone: Megan Steffes ’25 of Hilbert.

Trumpet: Grace Blakeslee ’26 of Green Bay, Robert Booty of Oshkosh, Kylar Kinyon ’23 of Benton Harbor, Michigan, Caitlin Marsch ’24 of West Bend.

French horn: Juan Gatica ’26 of Sun Prairie, Isaiah Taylor ’24 of Berlin.

Trombone: Peter Conlon of Ripon, Jessica Jensen of Hortonville, Haileey Pick ’25 of Temple, Texas

Euphonium: Emily Byington ’25 of Waukesha, Kate Shucha ’26 of Waunakee.

Tuba: Evan Jensen ’24 of Stoughton.

Percussion: Sam Campbell ’26 (also flute) of Columbus, Sam Erickson of Ripon, Ethan Hansen ’23 of Union Grove, Andy Lyke of Ripon, Larry Moua of Fond du Lac.

Harp: Virginia Pollock of Green Lake.


Violin 1: Donna Charley, Isaac Tomaschefsky ’24 of Green Bay, Ayanna Jorgenson ’26 of Ripon.

Violin 2: Amalia Santos ’24 of Kenosha, Miki Canak ’26 of Ripon, Johannes Deegen ’26 of Ripon.

Viola: Gabriella Bukoski ’26 of Ripon, Jackson Clarke, Steven Schani of Oshkosh.

Cello: Rori Beatty ’26 of Ripon, Jacob Griggs ’24 of St. Louis, Missouri, J.A. Koch, Johnna Knoke.

Flute: Katy Crane of Princeton, Harry Hirschberg.

Clarinet: Jordan Hansen, Maxwell Rogers.

Bassoon: Evan Jensen ’24 of Stoughton, Gail Schroeder.

French horn: Julie Feldner, Gretchen Zook.

Concert Choir

Soprano: Valerie Bruce ’25 of Pleasant Prairie, Calysta Kurz ’25 of Oconto, Natalie Levar ’26 of Ripon, Emma Sagartz ’23 of Chicago, Illinois, Haley Young ’26 of Ripon.

Alto: Mikayla Barnes ’23 of Germantown, Kinsley Kahl ’26 of Ripon, Sidney McNatt ’26 of Ripon, Carly Stefl ’26 of Ripon, Corinna Torres.

Tenor: Connor Elliott ’26 of Ripon, Kylar Kinyon’23 of Benton Harbor, Michigan.

Bass: Allen Bruce ’25 of Kenosha, Ben Cabala ’24 of Madison, Christian Grunert ’26 of Ripon, Owen Mehring ’25 of Ripon, Andy Ratayczak ’22 of Cedarburg.

Chamber Singers

Soprano: Ayanna Jorgenson ’26 of Ripon, Kai Liptow ’23 of Ripon, Summer Schlieckau ’25 of Reedsburg.

Mezzo soprano: Rori Beatty ’26 of Ripon, Valerie Bruce ’25 of Pleasant Prairie, Claire Lefeber

Alto: Bri Gommel ’23 of Fennimore, Lucie Hodgkins ’25 of Mcfarland.

Tenor: Kylar Kinyon ’23 of Benton Harbor, Michigan, Peter Loewenstein ’24 of Oshkosh.

Bass: Jacob Griggs ’24 of St. Louis, Missouri, Evan Jensen ’24 of Stoughton, Emilia Mans ’24 of Princeton.

Related Posts

Aaron O'Halloran '24, left and Henrik Schatzinger

Henrik Schatzinger, Aaron O’Halloran ’24 present at political science meeting

Henrik M. Schatzinger, professor of political science and interim director of the Center for Politics and the People, and Aaron O’Halloran ’24 of Oshkosh, Wisconsin, […]

The Cavatina Duo

Flute, guitar duo will perform in chamber music series Feb. 10

The Cavatina Duo will perform at Ripon College Friday, Feb, 10, as part of the Chamber Music and Jazz at Ripon series. The concert will […]

The Joe Policastro Trio

Chicago-based jazz trio to perform in chamber series Jan. 27

The Joe Policastro Trio, a forward-thinking jazz trio based in Chicago, will perform at Ripon College Friday, Jan. 27, as part of the Chamber Music […]

Jessica Jensen with her instrument

Faculty trumpet recital to be presented Monday

A trumpet recital with Jessica Jensen, adjunct professor of music, and John Daniel will be presented Monday, Jan. 23, at Ripon College. The concert will […]

Christmas bells on sheet music


Related Areas of Study