Ripon College forms new chapter of Iota, Iota, Iota honor society

Ripon College has formed a new chapter of Iota Iota Iota (Triota), the national women’s and gender studies honor society. Initiation of the inaugural 17 members of the Zeta Gamma chapter was held April 25.

Triota has more than 140 chapters nationwide. The Greek letter iota was selected for the name to represent the three goddesses Inanna, Ishtar, and Isis. Triota strives to maintain feminist values and encourages diversity, egalitarianism, and a supportive academic environment for all students.

The honor society promotes the intersectional study of social issues pertaining to gender, sex and sexuality. It also encourages volunteerism, advocacy and activism within the community as important methods for promoting and maintaining intersectional feminist values.

Ripon’s 17 inaugural members are: Ethan Brannen ’23, Waterford, Wisconsin; Madeline Clark ’23, Wrightstown, Wisconsin; Nicole A. DeJonge ’24, Sterling, Illinois; Katie Doan ’23, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Mei Li Freeland, ’23, Barron, Wisconsin; Dawsyn D. Friedauer ’23, Omro, Wisconsin; Ethan E. Hansen ’23 of Franksville, Wisconsin; Jacqueline A. Hanson ’23 of Deforest, Wisconsin; Alanis J. Harris ’23, Wilson, Michigan;

Grayce Kellie ’22, Waupun, Wisconsin; Alexandria R. Knatzke ’23, New Holstein, Wisconsin; Gemma Koester-Jess ’23 of Madison, Wisconsin; Kelly Larson ’23 of Superior, Wisconsin; Megan Steffes ’24 of Sherwood, Wisconsin; Hannah Patricia Thomer ’25, Omro, Wisconsin; Rachel Travis ’25 of Burlinton, Wisconsin; and Kaitlyn Walas ’23, Wonder Lake, Illinois.

Mary Unger, associate professor of English and chair of the department, is the coordinator of the Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies program.

(Photo: Yazmin Doroteo, director of Multicultural Affairs, left, two of the new members, Meili Freeland ’23 and Katie Doan ’23, Associate Professor of English Mary Unger and President Victoria N. Folse)

Related Posts

Halle Hadel '25 and Eve

Halle Hadel ’25 and her dog, Eve, bring home Award of Merit from Westminster dog show

Halle Hadel ’25 of Ripon, Wisconsin, and her Siberian husky, Eve, received an Award of Merit earlier in May at the Westminster Kennel Club Dog […]

Peter Loewenstein '24 playing the guitar

Peter Loewenstein ’24 brings family guitar legacy to performance on Thursday

When brass and guitar students present a recital Thursday, one of the guitarists brings a long family legacy of the instrument to his performance. Peter […]

Guitar and trumpet

Brass, guitar students will present joint recital April 27

A student brass and guitar recital will be presented at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, April 27, in Demmer Recital Hall, C.J. Rodman Center for the Arts, […]

Chamber Singers in rehearsal

Combined Ripon choirs, orchestra will present concert Sunday

The Ripon College choirs and orchestra will perform at 3:15 p.m. Sunday, April 23, in Demmer Recital Hall, C.J. Rodman Center for the Arts. Admission […]

Some of the new members of Iota, Iota, Iota chapter


Related Areas of Study